Cover Makeovers

Apparently, reading two plays and a couple of sonnets isn’t enough to satisfy my current Shakespeare run. I’ve got to ogle special edition folios and new covers, too. (Well, now you’ve done it, I tell myself).

I’m loving Manuja Waldia’s new Shakespeare covers for Penguin. Especially Hamlet and King Lear. It’s refreshing to see clean-cut yet elegant designs, and the covers do a wonderful job of embodying the spirits of the plays (literally, figuratively). Who’d have thought that simple black and white backdrops would be so effective at capturing the atmospheres of these works? Just look at the cover of Julius CaesarIt’s haunting.

Anyway. Four hundred years and Bill’s still going strong. I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

