Anne

Currently reading, live blogging:

“It is lovely weather and in spite of everything we make the most of it by lying on a camp bed in the attic, where the sun shines through an open window.”

“Sometimes I believe that God wants to try me, both now and later on; I must become good through my own efforts, without examples and without good advice. Then later on I shall be all the stronger. Who besides me will ever read these letters? From whom but myself shall I get comfort? As I need comforting often, I frequently feel weak, and dissatisfied with myself; my shortcomings are too great. I know this, and every day I try to improve myself, again and again.”

“Yet we shall still have our jokes and tease each other, when these horrors have faded a bit in our minds.”

“Jews and Christians wait, the whole earth waits; and there are many who wait for death.”

This girl was freaking brave. Brilliantly, intimately brave. Ineffable horrors haunted her, and yet she pulled through. The strange thing about reading her diary/letters is that, even though we’ve never met, I miss her. I really do. 

Leave a Reply

