Golden Point

They sat wringing their hands under the patter of rain.

“Can I ask something?” said Iris.

“Depends.”

“About you.”

“There’s not much to say.”

“Do you have family?”

“Kind of. You wouldn’t understand.”

“Well, I don’t understand a lot of things. I could use some help.”

“And yet you were offering it to me just the other day.”

“It’s not a one-way deal.” Iris rubbed her nose and coughed. The barn was rattling nervously under the torrents of water. A biting wind tore through the old wood. Mira grimaced and pulled on her thin coat until the seams clung to her skin.

“It’s not a one-way deal,” Iris repeated. “Helping is a mutual forgiveness. Giving someone a chance to do better. Letting someone give you a chance. Pure altruism means sacrificing yourself, and pure selfishness means sacrificing someone else. I think the golden point is somewhere in between.”

Mira was silent for some time as Iris watched the lamplight glow across the dusty ground.


Writing month, day twelve, word count: 12,410

Note: I will be taking the next two days (December 13/14) off due to travel. I’ll continue to update the blog, but the writing month will be on hold; when I return, I will catch up and resume the 1000 words per day quota.

Leave a Reply

