Embrace the Weird

Trips down memory lane can be uncomfortable. I found a half-finished journal from elementary school whilst looking through a pile of old books. It contained mostly cringe-worthy writing exercises and scribbles that resembled disembodied cartoon faces. Still, there were some salvageable memories that brought smiles:

  • “DADDY GOT ME HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS!!!! I JUST KNOW IT HE’S HIDING IT SOMEWHERE IN THE HOUSE AND HE SAYS HE’LL GIVE IT TO ME IF I PRACTICE BUT I WANT TO READ IT NOW!!! MAYBE IT’S BEHIND THE BOOKS IN THE LIBRARY” [followed by passionate drawings of lightning bolts and a list of various other possible hiding spots]
  • “I like this girl in class and I think I like her more than as a friend. But I don’t think I should say anything because some people say that a girl isn’t supposed to like another girl more than as a friend. It would be too weird. I think I’m already weird enough.” ¹
  • (Part of a paragraph on the show, Ben 10): “The aliens and fighting is cool but why do they always destroy the buildings and the houses and cars? It’s kind of sad that way.” ²
  • W.I.T.C.H is really good because it reminds me of Totally Spies and also I want to have friends like Will, Irma, Taranee, Cornelia, and Hay Lin. Friends are important, especially good friends.”

¹ A note to fifth-grade me: embrace the weird! It all works out, somehow. I promise.

² Gosh darn, remember your subject-verb agreement.

Leave a Reply

